“If you can dream it, you can do it.” – Walt Disney

Submitted by Zack Uliasz, Class of 2015            

Ever since I was little, it has been a dream of mine to work for The Walt Disney Company.  Almost a decade and a half later, it’s somewhat shocking to realize that my dream is now a few short days from coming true!

My name is Zack. I’m a sophomore at Rollins and I work at The Walt Disney World Resort thanks to Rollins Career Services.

My job search “began” while I was still in high school, selecting a college to attend.  Throughout the entire process, I had in the back of my mind that it would be awesome to find a good school within driving distance of Disney World.  Among all the other extraordinary reasons to love the college, the Rollins-to-Disney proximity was certainly a contributing factor in my choice to study here.  Disney has always been my foremost passion, and I was certain that I wanted it to be part of my life in college.  With a successful freshman year coming to a close, my mind turned again to my nagging desire of working for Disney.  They say if you write a goal down, you are twice as likely to achieve it.  Needless to say, my employment goal had been a longstanding and persistent one, and so I jumped at the chance to attend a career fair right here on campus-a career fair which Disney was rumored to be attending.

I was keenly aware of how unprepared for the fair I felt to meet with a Disney recruiter in person.  In an attempt to “polish” the impression I gave to potential employers, I attended a career fair workshop a few days before the actual event.  I learned so much about resume creating, what to wear, and how to interact with employers!

The big day came soon enough.  I was dressed in my finest business-casual attire, equipped with employer-specific resumes, and armed with some special insider information.  I visited several various booths, including Disney, yet received what seemed to be only an average level of interest.  Upon leaving the event, I remembered something Ray Rogers, Director of Career Services, said at the workshop that made all the difference.  Just before leaving the fair for the day, I made a special trip back to the Disney recruiter and thanked her– booth for her time and interest.

Simply by thanking the recruiter as suggested, I was granted the opportunity to submit a resume, and more importantly, was given an invitation to apply and interview with her for a potential job position!  A few weeks later, I found myself exiting a successful job interview from the Disney Casting Center.  After a long summer, I got the official job offer call, thus beginning my crazy and exciting journey with the Walt Disney Company.

It was a long wait, but I am beyond ecstatic to begin working!  Speaking of work, if you’re ever at Disney’s Hollywood Studios, keep an eye out for me!  I’ll see you at the movies!

Leave a Reply

